Course Director at SOAR

  • S.U.A., Rostock
  • S.U.A.
  • U.S.A., Rostock
  • U.S.A.
Afiseaza date contact
Traduceri ale CV-ului
  • Ultima actualizare: 25.10.2015
  • Numar referinta: 141958

Obiectiv profesional


  • The Netherlands
  • Project based
  • Salariul dorit400 €
  • Domeniile urmariteServicii Au Pair / Babysitter / Ingrijire
  • Disponibilitate deplasare in interes de serviciuPana la 100% din program
  • Disponibilitate relocareNumai in strainatate


Permis de conducere
  • A
  • Flexibilitate si adaptabilitate
  • Adaptare rapida la un grup nou

Limbi straine

  • Last update: 25.10.2015
  • Reference number: 141958

Career goals

I want to find a family to au pair for. I au paired in Germany for one year and loved it so now I want to au pair again.

  • The Netherlands
  • Project based
  • Salary wanted400 €
  • Wanted work domainsServices Au Pair / Babysitter / Care
  • Availability for work related travelUp to 100% of the schedule
  • Willing to relocateOnly abroad


  • May 2010 - August 2015

    Course Director, SOAR

    • Balsam, U.S.A.
    • Seasonal
    • Work domain - Services: Au Pair / Babysitter / Care,Embellishment / Beauty / Sports

    A high adventure summer camp for kids with ADD, ADHD, and learning disabilities. I started working as a staff working with one group of eight kids ages 8-10 years old for 12 days at a time. We went camping, hiking, climbing, and white water rafting. My second summer I worked with 18-25 year olds teaching life skills: communication skills, money management, anger management skills, and problem solving skills. For 18 days at a time. The last three summer I worked there I was the Course Director for the Academic Discovery program. A 26 day course for 11-18 year olds where they work on study skills as well as life skills. We take them backpacking, climbing, camping, caving, rappelling, and white water rafting. We also have more school based field trips to historic sights in the area, a nature center, and a science museum. I am in charge of 8-12 staff, 4 groups, and 32 kids.

  • March 2012 - March 2013

    Au pair, Schmitt-Hinkelman family

    • Friedrichsdorf, Germany
    • Full time
    • Work domain - Services: Au Pair / Babysitter / Care

    I loved my time working with a cuddly 7 year old boy and a charming 11 year old girl. Making breakfast, taking them to school and after school activities, and sometimes making dinner. When the parents had to work late or had a date night I would make sure the kids were showered and them put them to bed. The little girl liked to read herself to sleep but with the little boy I would read him bedtime stories and then stay with him until he fell asleep.


  • 2009 - 2011

    College, Emory and Henry College

    • Communication and Public relations
    • Emory, U.S.A.
  • 2004 - 2008

    Highschool, Watauga High School

    • Boone, U.S.A.


Driving license
  • A
  • Communication skills
  • Flexibility and adaptability
  • Interpersonal skills

I am a team player, good at discussing issues and finding solutions, and positive. I am a good listener and really care how others are doing. I have worked with babies as young as two weeks old and adults as old as 87 years old and every age in between. I am a people person. I can manage funds for programs and people who are leading the programs. I enjoy teaching people new things and I am very patient and encouraging.

Foreign languages



AmeriCorps, City Year Seattle 2008-2009. I worked with one other in a middle school running an alternative to suspension program, working to keep kids in school and learning even after they were removed from their classroom. In addition to helping them with school work we taught anger management skills, communication skills, and general life skills.
Certificates / diplomas
I am CPR certified, for adults, children, and infants.
I am lifeguard certified.
I also have my WFR, Wilderness First Responder.
Courses / training
Two courses of intensive German, three hours everyday for two months, and passed the A1 level German test.


How would you describe your personality?

An extroverted introvert. I like working with people but I also need a little time for myself to just be still. I am an optimist and I enjoy finding solutions to life's hiccups. I am happy to be in the moment and and just being with others. I am meticulous in tasks and unconditional in caring about others.

What are your goals in life?

I want to work with children. I want to travel and learn as much as I can about those that I meet. I want to feel content, fulfilled, and to never stop learning.

Describe your ideal job.

Working with children, laughing everyday, and learning new things.

What are the goals set for your career?

To work in different countries and travel while still getting to work with children.

Are you able to work effectively in a team or independently?

I am able to work effectively in both situations.

What job would you like to be doing in 5 years?

I would still like to be working with children in some way.

What are/were your most important 5 achievements in your current/past workplace?

1. Moving across the country for work
2. Getting promoted from volunteer to staff after one week
3. Moving to another country for work
4. Learning a new language 
5. Running a smooth program

What is your monthly salary expectation?

400-500€ a month

Can you work according to deadlines, under pressure, etc?

I find the I work best when I have a deadline and there is pressure given do to that deadline.

What is the last book you have read?

Wild by Cheryl Strayed